jump to navigation

The Emerging Church: A Tiger’s View May 27, 2007

Posted by Matt in Church, emergent.
trackback

I begin this series with the following understanding:

I, Matt Lemieux, do not pretend to speak on behalf of The Emerging Church. I do not pretend to have a complete view of the movement and its content as a whole. I will restrict myself to addressing the movement as I see it. I will attempt to explain my position relative to those qualities that I find defining the movement.

With that preliminary explanation, I hope to follow this outline in looking at the movement:

1) Introduction (this post)
2) The catholic Church: Where are we now?
3) The Culture: Where are we now?
4) The Emergent Church: Introduction
5) (One Post for Each Major Strand of Emergent — Probably following Scot McKnight’s view)
6) The Emergent Church and Culture: What now?
7) The Emergent Church and catholic Church: What now?
8) Conclusion

I reserve the right to alter this outline at anytime (because it’s my writing… :-P). I will link each post as it is made and hopefully make it easier for those of you who follow along after I write the series. At present, I do not know the schedule for how I am going to write these posts. I will be following the outline from 1) to 8), but the gap between each maybe be entirely random.

I will state ahead of time that I will NOT be quoting much from primary sources. This is not to say that I haven’t read them or that I value what they have to say or add to the conversation, but I’m namely dealing with emerging as I see it.

If you have questions or comments on the overall program/series as a whole, please leave them here. Specific comments or questions about the Emergent Church or any other comments that I make, please leave those on each post.

Comments»

1. Studyhound - May 27, 2007

Cool, cant wait to see it. :-)

2. studyhound - July 11, 2007

3) The Culture: Where are we now?
4) The Emergent Church: Introduction
5) (One Post for Each Major Strand of Emergent — Probably following Scot McKnight’s view)
6) The Emergent Church and Culture: What now?
7) The Emergent Church and catholic Church: What now?
8) Conclusion

>.>


Leave a Reply

