jump to navigation

The Mini MEme September 25, 2006

Posted by Matt in Matt, Meme.
trackback

This meme comes courtesy of Roberto of New Perspective fame… Though I must admit that I originally saw it on Nothing New Under The Sun, a simply superb theo-blog.

Anywho, onward to the actual meme:
Name a piece of Art that you love.

The Godfather

My pick would have to The Godfather, the film directed by Francis Ford Coppola based on the novel by Mario Puzo. Simply a masterpiece of American Cinema, this is a film that simply takes its own time to tell the story that it desires to tell. Add that with the fact that it happens to be one of the most manly films ever. How could you possibly go wrong? (*cough* GF3)

A Line of a Song or Line of Poetry that Reaches Your Core

[…]
Isn’t it love
This rain that falls on the sinner and the saint
Isn’t it love
This well that won’t run dry
Isn’t it love
These mercies are made new every morning […]

Isn’t it love to look down from the sky
And see your only son on the cross asking why
And somehow let him die that way
And not call the whole thing off

All for a man here in Kalamazoo
Who loses his bags and his way sometimes, too
But that was something that you already knew
And still you died for me

From Andrew Peterson‘s Isn’t It Love, originally from his Clear to Venus album, but most recently (and the best cut I think) from his Appendix A. You have my permission to buy every record Andy has ever made and any ones he will release into the future. In fact, buy several and pass them around to your friends.

An Experience in Nature that was really special and/or Spiritual

Not that I am one to “commune with Nature” all that much… However, I would have to say that there is the place in the North Carolina mountains called Sterchi Lodge that I can’t help but have a spiritual connection with. I’ve traveled there for several retreats, all of which were memorable for one reason or another.

Lake Junaluska might become a close second some day if I ever get to spend enough time there doing something other than business.

The Movie(s) that Changed the Way You Saw the World

I’m going to cheat and throw two films up here. I feel justified since they are related.

Most recently, I would have to say Hotel Rwanda. This film is about Paul Rusesabagina, a Rwandan native who managed a hotel in Kigali, Rwanda. Paul was instrumental in allowing over 1200 refugees flee the genocide that gripped Rwanda at the time. This film solidified my resolve to help the people of Africa (and the rest of the world) in any way that I could. One cannot walk away from this film without being affected to change. Psst… Surely Amnesty International is not the only folks that have caught the modern day parallel (Darfur).

Relatedly, I will select Schindler’s List, a film about Oskar Schindler, a German industrialist who ran ceramics factory in Poland and the modern Czech Republic. Schindler was instrumental in allowing over 1200 Jews escape the genocide that gripped Europe at the time. I must admit that I wasn’t old enough to fully appreciate this film the first time I saw it. It is one of the few films that I spend the last half crying through. It introduced me to the notion that film could impact the way that I saw the world. I suppose that is a touch “meta” to the meme’s question… :-)

A Piece of Music that Makes You Cry

As much as I love music (both to listen and perform), I have never cried at a musical performance or recording. However, I always get a good kick in the gut when the church sings Amazing Grace. I sang four verses from Amazing Grace at my maternal grandfather’s funeral. I can’t say that I ever cared much for the man, but in my mind that is forever where Amazing Grace will be found, at the graveside of my mother’s father.

This concludeth the meme. If you are reading this line, consider yourself tagged to complete this meme at your blog or place of posting residence (*cough* TWebbers). Just remember to drop a trackback or comment with a link.

Comments»

1. Dave - September 27, 2006

“In fact, buy several and pass them around to your friends.”

Works rather well, I’d say. :P

2. Byron - November 2, 2006

Matt, glad you like my blog. This mini MEme originated here (though she didn’t get around to answering her own questions till here)- a friend of mine from church, so you saw the second generation on my site and the third on Rob’s.

I loved your meta answer to the film question re Schindler’s List – such an important thing to learn that art can actually change things.

3. Raptor - January 29, 2007

When is the update coming, Hmm?


Leave a Reply

