jump to navigation

The One Book Meme July 27, 2006

Posted by Matt in Matt, Meme.
trackback

Rob of the New Perspective on Robb fame recently tagged me to complete another fun little meme…

1. One Book that changed your life:
Popular response it seems, but I would have to say N.T. Wright’s Jesus and the Victory of God. Not so much for any specific content of the book, but just the way that it affected the way that I view Jesus, the Gospels and the Kingdom of God.

2. One Book that you have read more than once:
Easy… The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe by C.S Lewis. I’ve read the entire series several times and recommend it to everyone.

3. One Book you’d want on a desert island:
Hrmn… Tough one… But I think I would take Dune by Frank Herbert. I can keep reading that book and get new things out of it every time that I do so.

4. One Book that made you laugh:
The book that has made me laugh the most would probably be Catch-22 by Joseph Heller. If you’ve read it, you understand. If not, you should… ;-)

5. One Book that made me cry:
A repeat… The Lion, The Witch, and The Waredrobe. If you can make it through the Stone Table scene without breaking down, I’m not sure that you are human.

6. One Book that you wish had been written:
An Open Letter to Matt Lemieux by Jesus of Nazareth. The Church in the Kingdom, or ‘Getting’ Church by any theologian prior to this century.

7. One Book that you wish had never been written:
Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoffer. If there is one book (which, I’ve not even read all of) that challenges me than any other, it is this one. I think that my life would have been much simpler and more complacent if I had never heard of Bonhoffer. That being said, everyone MUST go read this book… ;-)

8. One Book that you are currently reading:
The Secret Message of Jesus by Brian McLearen.

9. One Book that you have been meaning to read:
Resident Aliens by Stanley Hauerwas and William H. Willimon

10. Tag 5 other people:
Well, you see, I’m new to this whole blogosphere, so for the time being this is a dead-end, but eventually I hope that it is not… :-)

Yours,
Matt

Comments»

1. Steve - July 30, 2006

D00d.

I hope you’re doing well.

spiritmech

2. sc_q_jayce - July 30, 2006

Roar.


Leave a Reply

